Queensbury Patent Map
|Back to The Corners Home Page|
THE QUEENSBURY PATENT
Following the French and Indian War, the Lieutenant-governor of the Province of New York opened the area between Lake George and Fort Edward as a new frontier. After preliminary applications dating from January, 1760, a group of twenty three petitioners headed by Daniel Prindle, applied for 23,000 acres on the Hudson River west of the township of Kingsbury. The application was granted on May 20, 1762, in the second year of the reign of King George III of England, and the new township was named Queensbury in honor of his consort.
According to Wing family tradition, Abraham Wing and his group of Quakers were able to purchase the Queensbury patent from the Prindle group, who apparently had no interest in settling here. Abraham Wing arrived here with a surveyor, Zaccheus Towner, and surveyed the township and divided it into lots. In 1763, an attempt was made at a permanent settlement by Abraham Wing and Ichabod Merritt.
SOURCE: History of Warren County, New York; edited by William H. Brown; Published by Board of Supervisors of Warren County, 1963.
The following is a map of the plots that were originally laid out. To discover who owned the lots, click here.
Back to The Corners Home Page